School District Free & Reduced Price School Lunches in South Dakota

Change Indicator

(i) Select Table Type:

  • Detailed

Why This Indicator Matters

The Child and Adult Nutrition Services (CANS) office in the Department of Education is responsible for administering the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Food and Nutrition Services (FNS) programs. Schools must be accredited in accordance with Department of Education policies.Families are eligible for free or reduced price lunches through the USDA School Lunch Program based on their income level.
show more


Data Provided By

Definitions: Percent of children eligible for free and reduced price school lunches.

Year=School year.

Data Source: South Dakota Department of Education, Child and Adult Nutrition Services

Footnotes: S = Data are suppressed because the agency has 90% or more of the children eligible for free or reduced price meals or have 10 or fewer children enrolled. In accordance with 7CFR 245 6(f), the percentages are not listed because to do so would overtly identify the children directly or by deduction.

NA = No data available

Corsica 21-2 and Stickney 01-2 consolidated into Corsica-Stickney 21-3.

Shannon County School District 65-1 changed their district name to Oglala Lakota County School District 65-1.

Grant-Deuel School District dissolves and attaches to Milbank School District 25-4; Deuel School District 19-4 and Waverly-South Shore School District 14-5.

 Updated 28 August 2019