Students eligible for free or reduced-price meals (with CEO/CEP) in Kentucky

Change Indicator

(i) Select Table Type:

  • Detailed
  • Sort / Rank


Data Provided By

Definitions: Percent of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals.

Data Source: Kentucky Department of Education


The school districts that had at least one school participating in the Community Eligibility Option (CEO, now Community Eligibility Provision or CEP) school meal program in SY 2011/12 and/or SY 2012/13 were Ballard County, Bell County, Bowling Green Independent, Breathitt County, Calloway County, Campbellsville Independent, Carter County, Christian County, Clay County, Danville Independent, Dawson Springs Independent, Elliott County, Estill County, Fairview Independent, Floyd County, Frankfort Independent, Fulton Independent, Harlan County, Hopkins County, Jackson County, Jenkins Independent, Johnson County, Knott County, Knox County, Lee County, Leslie County, Letcher County, Lincoln County, Madison County, Magoffin County, Martin County, Mason County, Mayfield Independent, McCracken County, McCreary County, Menifee County, Metcalfe County, Middlesboro Independent, Monroe County, Muhlenberg County, Murray Independent, Newport Independent, Owensboro Independent, Owsley County, Paducah Independent, Perry County, Pike County, Todd County, Warren County, Wayne County and Wolfe County.
For CEO participating schools, student eligibility for free or reduced-price meals is determined through direct certification instead of household applications, but CEO participating schools provide free meals to all students. For school districts in which all schools participated in the CEO program, the rate portrayed was provided by the data source. For school districts containing both CEO and non-CEO participating schools, KYA calculated the district’s overall rate of student eligibility for free or reduced-price meals estimate using this formula:
(((for each CEO school, percentage of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals *student enrollment) + (for each non-CEO school, number of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals from KDE))/(total district enrollment)).
**District merged with county district.
Updated 1/30/2013